Skip to Content

BC Legislature Wraps Up Session

/ 97.3 The Eagle

N-D-P leader John Horgan says the retirements of 14 M-L-A’s who are saying goodbye to the B-C legislature mark a changing of the guard. Horgan has paid tribute to the outgoing politicians but says their departure will bring new people and fresh ideas to the legislature. Half of the 14 politicians who have decided not to run in the May provincial election are New Democrats — including Sue Hammell, who was first elected in Surrey in 1991 when New Democrat Mike Harcourt was premier. Also retiring are two independents and five Liberals, including veteran cabinet ministers Bill Bennett and Terry Lake and 20-year Surrey veteran Gordon Hogg, who marked the occasion by wearing a multi-coloured suit that would make Don Cherry blush.

Comments are closed.